Blog week two: ( 27-01-2014 till 02-02-2014) - Reisverslag uit Nelspruit, Zuid-Afrika van VeroniqueKoffrie - WaarBenJij.nu Blog week two: ( 27-01-2014 till 02-02-2014) - Reisverslag uit Nelspruit, Zuid-Afrika van VeroniqueKoffrie - WaarBenJij.nu

Blog week two: ( 27-01-2014 till 02-02-2014)

Door: Veronique Koffrie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

02 Februari 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Nelspruit

On Monday the 27th I had a meeting with the headmaster of Curro Nelspruit.
He was very enthusiastic about me joining the team for this term.
And I was allowed to start the following day. I will be joining and assisting Mrs Minifie with her classes. She teaches grade 6 and 7. ( 11-13 yrs)
The best thing about the meeting was that they offered that Hugo could join the Pre- Primary class while I'm teaching at Curro.
Which is absolutely amazing since now he won't have to miss the social interaction with kids his age!
The first few days were really a revelation. The difference between students and teaching here in South Africa and the Netherlands is like comparing day and night!
The classes are much smaller, all the students are extremely polite.
The students don't come into the classroom until you give them permission, and they won't sit down until you tell them to. The answer every question with: Yes, Mam. And they greet you in the hallway and on the school grounds.
The school uniforms that all the students are wearing gives it all such a unified feeling.
Every morning the staff meets before school in the staff room to discuss the day's agenda and to pray.
The students have assembly twice a week in which they are given a short sermon with a moral lesson incorporated and during which we all start our school day with prayers and songs.
On Thursday my "mentor" Mrs Minifie was ill, so I took over all her classes for the day. All the classes had a spelling test, which took up about 10 minutes, the rest off the lesson we played vocabulary enhancing games. Since all the books are digital on their tablets and there were no hard copies of the books, I couldn't do anything other than play games with them. The students had a great time though and were very cooperative.
The head of staff asked me if I was willing to substrate for other teachers as we'll if needed, which I naturally agreed to. Friday I substituted for a history teacher that had a grade 11 class (16-17 yrs)
I had a lovely first school week and I cannot wait to see what the rest of my time here will bring!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 08 Juni 2015
Verslag gelezen: 240
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5411

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Juni 2015 - 31 December 2015

Mijn eerste reis

19 Januari 2014 - 17 April 2014

Stage in Zuid- Afrika ❤️

Landen bezocht: